Rodeo

It has been so long
I barely remember
what it was like to
wake up in the space
you left behind
when you awoke
and parted long
before I could
bring myself to
the awareness that
comes from the sun
streaming in the
floor to ceiling
windows in my
old bedroom
before I ran away
from home.

You’ll always be
the one who taught me
how long things can stay;
dents in the mattress or
holes in your heart alike.
~1/29/14
_____
That time when you write a poem that takes days to work through and then are so exhausted you wonder if you’re ever going to write anything again. And then you write like, 3 poems in 15 minutes and realize everything is right with the world again.

Standard

Leave a Reply

