2013 Year End Quiz

1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before? Spent July 4th in DC. Check that one off the bucket list.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? More yes than no. And no.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Roomie had a Hazelnut.

4. Did anyone close to you die? The second half of 2013 was rife with funerals. Largest among them would be Uncle Al.

5. What countries did you visit? Just this one.

6. What would you like to have had in 2013 that you lacked in 2012? I’m tired of this question. It gets harder to answer every year. I abstain.

7. What date from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? I don’t want to say August 23. But I’m a sentimental fool.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Poetry Sidewalks project, I’d say. That was pretty freaking cool.

9. What was your biggest failure? I know what they are. I don’t think detailing them here is beneficial to anyone. I will say, not what you think, most likely.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Something went super wonky with my sinuses. But I’m nice and doped now.

11. What was the best thing you bought? Um, Zombie Shakespeare figurine. Like hello how cool is that? Totes magotes.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? I’m going to have to say “Let’s hear it for the boys” this year. Teddy, Daniel, Zak, Abe – they were all superb friends at some point or another this year, and I’m grateful.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? Oh, come on. You know the answer as well as I do!

14. Where did most of your money go? Bills bills bills

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? West Virginia. It’s my Tahiti.

16. What song/bands will always remind you of 2013? Heart Starts – Matt Nathanson (that whole album really). “Found a dead end girl to read my palm. She was into losing streaks, so I let her take me on. A million miles away, lost at sea, she burned like a fire only drowning men could see. All I know is the world is filled with broken things. All I know, with these walls I built, I can’t get to what you need.”

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i.i. happier or sadder? the same? I’m smarter. And that’s enough.
ii. thinner or fatter? about the same, I guess.
iii. richer or poorer? about the same, I guess.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Whatever I wanted. Instead of what everyone else wanted.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Feeling so sick.

20. How did you spend Christmas Eve? With the fam at the Hungarian Club.

22. Did you fall in love in 2013? I fell into glorious rebound, which is more than enough for me, thank you very much.

23. How many one-night stands? The year’s not over yet.

24. What was your favorite TV program? SHIELD and Sleepy Hollow made it through the pack to become my favorites.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Its funny how you don’t know a person exists, and then a year later you wish they’d never been born. Or at the very least that you’d never met them.

26. What was the best book you read? The Fault in Our Stars wrecked my life for a few days there.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? Matt Hires is one. Not a new discovery but a rediscovery: Jon McLaughlin – Fire away, what are you waiting for? Our common ground is now just a dirty floor. It’s a chill in the air from the cold in your stare so go ahead and make that last move. But this ain’t over. This is war. So square your shoulders. Clear the scoreboard. Kiss your goodbyes and take your shot. Fire away, give me all you’ve got.

28. What did you want and get? Another chance.

29. What did you want and not get? For that chance to have been real.

30. What was your favorite film of this year? I’d have to say Catching Fire, just because it was so much better than Hunger Games and I got to see it with my cousins. Great Gatsby was also great, but I love that one more for the soundtrack than anything.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I spent my 31st birthday in Washington, DC. Which was, needless to say, pretty epic. The Smithsonian had a Folk Festival so one of the guys who’d come from Hungary sang Happy Birthday to me in Hungarian. It was awesome.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? When the truth doesn’t matter, the consequences don’t count.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013? Evolving slowly but surely. I’m a work in progress. And hello? It’s not every year you cut 14 inches of hair off your head.

34. What kept you sane? The right people dropping in with the right words at the right time. I had a lot of that this year, and I’m grateful for it.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I would say the year was probably most rife with Tom Hiddles fan-girling. Me and the rest of the world.

36. What one word best describes 2013? fictional

37. Who did you miss? I just started shopping for airline tickets to France next fall because I really need to see Eva.

38. Who was the best new person you met? I met a lot of new people this year and as one of them so eloquently put it “I’m glad that we met; not that we met through him.” My ex has a couple of decent people around him that I’m glad to know.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013: It’s important for you to believe that you can change your circumstances. It’s another (almost impossible thing) to actually accomplish it. Shuffle up and deal. Or move away and change your name.

In 2014
What do you plan to do that you didn’t do this year? It’s a secret.

What are your pre-New Year’s resolutions? Don’t waste your time making promises you won’t keep. Especially to yourself. Read: resolutions. (After all, promises are just lies unless you keep them).

Who are you spending New Year’s Eve with? Colleen and I don’t know what we’re doing, but we know we’re doing it together.

What one thing would you like to say as the year is almost done? I am all I have and I’ll never stop hoping that I’m enough. I honestly don’t know how I messed it up so completely. The first time around I was sad because I didn’t think it needed to end and in the end I realized it never should have begun at all.

Standard

Leave a Reply

