You Say Potato

Last winter all I wanted
was for you to sit here
while I made soup
so that I could
listen to your stories
and tell you my own
because I wanted to
make you a part of
this process that means
so very much to me and

today, he is sitting
in my kitchen while
I am standing here
hunched over the stove
just like my mother,
and hers before her.

He is telling
me a story

and I should be afraid
that you are here,
that your presence
will insert itself
between us in this
moment but then
I remember that
you never came
so you’re not
here at all.

You can’t replace someone
who never really existed.
~12/26/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

