Delayed Reactions

He was supposed to.

But he didn’t and
he didn’t even
pretend to in the end

but I can lift my head again
because I am not defined
by the worst things that
always seem to happen
to me but by the way

I pick myself up
dust myself off
and start all over again

and again, I couldn’t tell you
how grateful I am to have you
without expressing that the
reason you’re so important is
because he was so insignificant.

He didn’t stay.

And I don’t think
that you will stay.

But then again
I don’t think
you’re supposed to.
~12/23/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

