And just like that…

Something horrible
happened last night,

quicker than I could
process fully

and now
looking back on it
with the benefit of sleep
and the sun shining
out the window
to shed a little light
on the matter
(stark, brutal light
to match a horrifying,
painful memory),

I find myself
standing here
going through
the list of people
I have to go to
in crises like this
and I realize

the one man
whose job it was
is gone and
the one man
who might take
his place is too new

and I can’t
do this alone
and what did
I do in the past
or in a past life
to deserve to be
standing here
alone and
horrified and
at a loss for
what to say or
who to say it to?
~12/17/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

