Mind You

I got what I wanted.
I wasn’t alone.
I mean, I was, but at least
it didn’t feel like it.

It’s not that I can’t do it,
mind you, the being alone.
I just would rather not
if given the option.

You were a placeholder
and someday I’ll appreciate
all the wonderful things
you said but for now I’m
still busy trying to
separate those
from the lies.

I have a very clear picture
of what I want out of love
and I know I just keep
picking up souls and
trying to shove them
into the empty spaces
inside myself and that
might not be fair but how
else are you supposed
to find the one who fits?
~ 11/24/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

