Nothing is Wrong

You don’t have to tell me
everything is all right
because it doesn’t have to be
as long as nothing’s wrong.

I want you to know that
I recognize you love me
better than I love you
but you’re going to
have to accept the fact
that it’s nothing more
than an exercise in
ownership within
an arena I never asked
to enter and a contest
I never hoped to win.

Your fervency doesn’t
impress me because
it’s been visited on me
all my life and it has
become vicious
in your old age.

You’ve spent so much time
so much energy and all
those resources making sure
I would turn out as something
very particular and I admit
I get a small amount of joy
from seeing you stand there
wondering where all your
fool-proof plans went wrong.

You don’t have to tell me
everything is all right
because I can tell
from everything you’re
not saying that it isn’t.

But sometimes it can still
mean that nothing is wrong.
~11/5/13
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I’ve had the kind of week that sort of deadens your soul. Which makes writing poetry difficult. But I see a light at the end of the tunnel. Fingers crossed it’s not the oncoming train.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Nothing is Wrong

    • betsyroses says:

      Thanks! I know things are bad when I can’t write, and when I finally start to again I know I wouldn’t be able to get through any of it without the knowledge that the words will come eventually!

      Like

Leave a Reply

