Lightness in the Darkness

There is light in me.

I know that.

But I’ve spent
so much time
in the darkness
that I choose
to focus on that
above all things
because it’s where
I’m more comfortable.

Help me sleep.
Barring that
make the days
easier to manage.

There is light in you.

I hope you know that.

But you’re
more comfortable
in the darkness
and it’s hard not to
focus on that
above all things.

I want to
help you sleep.
Barring that
I want to make
the hours
easier to take.

Would you laugh
if I told you the
thing I fear most
is that I will
prove to be too
boring for you?

But I go to bed
each night
thinking:

Help us.
Barring that
let us help
each other.
~10/16/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

