Semantics

I know I should probably just say this to your face
instead of writing a poem about it but I really hate it
when people call me sweetheart, friend or lover alike.

I mean, you can get away with more than most because
it’s nice that you want to endear me to you at all but
what about me denotes any kind of sweetness at all?

You knew I was a nebulous ball of neuroses from the start
and while I possess a great number of admirable qualities,
a sweet heart can not be found anywhere among them.
~9/18/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

