Lions

I’ve been lucky when dealing with
the more recent losses in my life
that the last thing I’ve said
to my lions is “I love you.”

I am living proof of the adage that
it takes a village and I realize now
that all of my grandfathers are gone
and I’m faced with the reality that
my first extra father figure has
gone to his eternal rest.

There is a hole in my life and
heartache leads to headaches
as I try to stop crying knowing
that if he were here he would
just squint his eyes at me and
tell me to pull myself together.

I’ll celebrate you whether you
would wish it or not and
I promise I will remember
every thing you taught me
because you were never
one to waste your words.

Thank you for making my life
bigger and teaching me to see
the importance of my place in it.
~9/15/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

