Throwback Thursday: The Body Politic

I don’t even know how
the subject came up
but when he asked
if I’d ever follow
my father’s path
into politics,
I said,

“I’m not much of a public speaker
but I once told my mother
on a 6th grade trip out west,
that one day I’d be etched into
that mountain – Mount Rushmore
would one day be my home.
Because one day,
I’ll be the
first woman President.”

He looked me up and down,
in that way that makes me feel
ten years old again, and shot back
“What, even in your condition?”

As if loving a woman
is something you get over
like a cold.
~5/7/03

Standard

Leave a Reply

