Seeing Stars

Gravity pulls
the blood down
to the tips of my
fingers until they
are numb and

my shoulders
down from the
weight of another
restless night.

This sickness
has my heart
in a vice and
my shoelaces
tied together

and even though
I shouldn’t just
sit here I can’t
stand up without
running the risk
of seeing stars
and landing hard

against the cold ground
carpeted in the truth that
even though I ran
I didn’t get far

and some things are
inescapable no matter
how many years and
heartbeats pound out
their rhythm in my ears
as everyone assures me
that I “don’t look sick.”
~8/6/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

