I Don’t Love You

I don’t love you
because you’re good
or safe or beautiful
or the most interesting
person I’ve ever met.

You are those things.
But they aren’t why
I love you at all.

I don’t love you
despite all your faults,
the weaknesses of your
mind and your body
and that habit you have
of temporarily taking
leave of your senses.

You do those things.
But they aren’t why
I love you at all.

You asked me why once,
or more accurately you
asked how I ever could.

And I said you should
trust me to make my
own decisions.
You don’t have to
agree with them but
you’re not allowed
to take the choice
away from me like
you did before.

I don’t love you
because you deserve it,
even though you do.
I don’t love you
despite the uncertainty,
even though it is.

Maybe someday
I will wake up
and realize that
I don’t love you.
But not today.
~7/15/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

