The Sadness Belt

They say I live
in the sadness belt*,
and I want to dispute
these findings because
I can be sad –
but on my own terms.

My sadness is mine,
homegrown and
cultivated and I don’t
need a study to tell
me that it’s so.

They say,
“You will do
better in Toledo,”
and despite its
efforts to the
contrary, sometimes
I look up and realize
I’m better than I
was yesterday and
I’m all set to be
better tomorrow.

They say I live
in the sadness belt,
but it’s mine and
I’ll join hands
with the rest
of us and we’ll
lift each other up –
because sadness
becomes less so
when you share it.
~ 7/17/13

*

Standard

Leave a Reply

