You Can Drive

I won’t ever
be good enough
but I’ll always be
better than
I ever had
a right to be.

I’ve got the key.
I always do.
I have the answers
before you’ve asked
the question and
I don’t need your
gratitude to continue
being the dependable one
(which is good because
I never seem to get it).

I’m having a bad day.
You’re complicit in it
because you’re not
trying to make it better
but there’s a man outside
who wants to take me
for a ride and I’m
too tired to tell him no.

I’ve come to terms with the fact
that I won’t ever be good enough
but I armor myself in the knowledge
that I’ll always be better than
I ever had a right to be.
~6/7/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

