Codename Smith

If I disappeared tomorrow
they’d wonder why I
didn’t take my new jeans,
which are still lying
on the floor where
I dropped them.
The tea would still be
warm in the kettle and
despite my best intentions
the bedsheets would still be
tangled in a mess at the foot
of the bed that we shared
for too short a time but
if I disappeared tomorrow
they’d still come to you first
asking where I’d gone and
I like to think you’d be as lost
as the change still stuck in
the couch cushions.
~5/14/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

