Go to the Wood

I saw the doe first.

I swear she looked
right at me, calmly –
and we stood locked,
suspended for a moment
in each other’s gaze.

She walked, and I walked,
and before too long she
came upon her companion.

They came together
like fluid, so smoothly
that you could tell they’d
grown apart and come together
countless times, in these woods.

He looked up at me, through me,
and we stood locked, suspended
for what felt like an eternity
in each other’s gaze.

Then he turned and
pushed her onward
and before too long
they were lost to me.

The wood came together
smoothly around them as it
had countless times before.

The sun set
behind the trees
and I missed you.
~4/26/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

