Thoughts on Mental Illness

I’m not going to be all right
for your sake and I’m not
going to pretend I’ve
grown out of it to make
you feel better and I’m
not going to act as if
everything is fine when
it’s not. It’s not. It’s really
not and I’m sorry you
can’t understand that and
I’m glad you don’t know
how it feels but I wish
you knew what it means
so that you wouldn’t
look at me that way and
say I should just get over
it and on with it and grow
up already but I don’t
know how to make you
see that just because
you stopped believing
in the monsters under
the bed doesn’t mean
that they aren’t still
there waiting to grab
my ankles if I ever
have the strength
to get out of this bed.
~4/25/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

