All that glitters is not gold.

And heavy is the head
that wears the crown
but oh, just look
how it sparkles!

See the beautiful new
bangles my subjects
have presented to me?

“So the fire in your eyes
will bounce off your wrists
and up to your head
until you are crowned
in dancing, fiery light,”
they proclaim.

But, my dear subjects,
how can these jewels
reflect the fire in my eyes
when you have stomped
it out with all your praise?

The fire has been stoked,
melting my adornments
down to shackles –
but oh, just look
how they sparkle!

Sleep sweet,
my dear subjects,
as these bangles cut
too deeply into
my arms for rest.
And heavy is the head
that wears the crown,
too distracting to sleep.
I mean, have you seen
how it sparkles?
~4/17/13

Standard

One thought on “All that glitters is not gold.

Leave a Reply

