Shut the Windows

I catch a glimpse every once in awhile,

like ghosts of the life I’m living in the

reality where it all worked out.

 

(We always run out of coffee there.

There are more than two chairs in my

apartment. Apart from the “when are we

having kids?” argument, there’s

nothing to argue about).

 

There is a way to balance my life and your life

and I know it because I’ve done it (so long ago).

I’m better off in this empty apartment with

the ghosts of the life we never got to have,

but I’ve still got to pretend I don’t hear you

whispering the narrative of our aborted life,

whenever I close another door too quickly.

~4/8/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

