Need it So Much

I’m reaching out to you
without even realizing it.
I am trying to find you in
false prophets everywhere.

I tell them how I’ve been hurt.
They take my hand and say,
“I will prove to you the world
is not always such
a horrible place as that.”

And they lie.

By the time I realize
my mistake
the damage is
already done.

I’m having troubling
catching my breath.
I look down and my hand
is reaching out for something.
I don’t know what it is or
why I need it so much.
~2/22/13

Standard

Leave a Reply

